Help the Royal Cornwall Museum encourage all future generations to be inspired by Cornish heritage. Find Out More

The UK’s Greatest Museum for Cornish Art and Culture | Free For Under 18s

Royal Cornwall Museum

Prizes and Grants

Dr Jayne Wackett Memorial Fund

Yearly Research Grant

The Dr Jayne Wackett Memorial fund makes small grants to students and researchers investigating the Royal Cornwall Museum’s collections or researching areas of Medieval, Early Modern history or Art History with a link to Cornwall or the South West.

  • Applications will be open between 1st September- 1st February with a decision being made in early March.
  • Applicants may apply for up to £1000
  • The fund will support a variety of research costs, including but not limited to; Travel, accommodation, lab fees, publication costs, fieldwork costs, conservation costs, digitization costs, equipment hire, conference fees, licencing fees, childcare fees, experimental archaeology fees

For more information and to apply, please download the Jayne Wackett Memorial Fund application

The Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize


A unanimous decision by the Winston Graham Prize for Historical Fiction judging panel gave Ian Mortimer the top prize of £3000 for his book ‘The Outcasts of Time’ published by Simon and Schuster.

Summing up the comments of judges, Peggotty Graham,Chair of the judging panel, said “Ian Mortimer’s book is extremely well researched, provides tremendous breadth, lively writing and a very satisfying plot and conclusion”.

Ian Wall, Director of the Royal Institution of Cornwall commented“Cornwall is incredibly proud of its rich heritage and as an organisation celebrating its 200th anniversary, we are extremely fortunate to have an endowment fund bequeathed to us by Winston Graham, along with his original notebooks held at the Courtney Library. This generous legacy enables us to run the Winston Graham Prize, a literary competition which celebrates published works about the South West which follow in the wake of Winston Graham’s Poldark legacy”.

The competition judges’ panel was chaired by Peggotty Graham, Winston Graham’s daughter-in-law, who was joined by Tracey Guiry, the Director of The Poetry Archive, Jane Bingham, Royal Literary Fund Fellow, and Ian Wall, the Director of the Royal Cornwall Museum.

The museum are delighted to launch the next round of the prize and are accepting entries of novels published in the last three years prior to the deadline of June 2020. Please use the link below to download the entry form for submissions and terms & conditions of the competition.

Winston Graham Historical Prize 2020

Cardew-Rendle History Prize 2020

Thanks to a generous legacy from the estate of Harold Cornelius Cardew-Rendle, we are proud to announce the launch of the 2020 Cardew-Rendle History Prize.

To enter, competitors need to submit an original researched essay, 6000-8000 words in length, on any aspect of Cornish history or pre-history.  A prize of £4000 will be awarded to the winner, with two runners up prizes of £500 each. The winning essay will be considered for publication in the 2020 RIC Journal.

The Winner of the 2018 Cardew-Rendle Prize is Alexis Jordan

2020 Cardew Rendle Prize

The Charles Thomas Prize

This prize of £100 is awarded for a piece of research, on any aspect of Cornwall, and is funded by the legacy from the historian and archaeologist, Prof Charles Thomas.