Celebrating 200 Years of the Royal Institution of Cornwall Find Out More

The UK’s Greatest Museum For Cornish Life & Culture | Free For Children

Royal Cornwall Museum


The Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize

The Winston Graham Historical Prize is funded by a generous legacy from the author and supported by his family.  Launched in 2008 the prize looked for a work of historical fiction preferably with a clear connection to Cornwall.

A competition prize of £3,000 is available to the winning book of historical fiction based in the South West of England.

Terms & Conditions


The Returning Tide – Liz Fenwick
The Butcher’s Daughter – Victoria Glendinning
The Outcasts of Time – Ian Mortimer
The Wanderers – Tim Pears
The Letter – Ruth Saberton
Falling Creatures – Katherine Stansfield

Cardew-Rendle History Prize
DEADLINE 31 August 2018 *Extended Deadline 

Thanks to a generous legacy from the estate of Harold Cornelius Cardew-Rendle, we are proud to announce the launch of the 2018 Cardew-Rendle History Prize.

To enter, competitors need to submit an original researched essay, 6000-8000 words in length, on any aspect of Cornish history or pre-history.  A prize of £2000 will be awarded to the winner, with two runners up prizes of £250 each. The winning essay will be considered for publication in the 2019 RIC Journal.

2017 cardew rendle prize


The Charles Thomas Prize

This prize of £100 is awarded for a piece of research, on any aspect of Cornwall, and is funded by the legacy from the historian and archaeologist, Prof Charles Thomas.